Ward, Henry and MacArthur all don leadership letters

Glens Falls, NY – The Adirondack Thunder, proud ECHL affiliate of the New Jersey Devils, announced prior to tonight’s season opener that forward James Henry has been named team captain for the 2018-2019 season. Additionally, forwards Peter MacArthur and Brian Ward have been given the “A” as alternate captains. 

Henry, 27, becomes the fourth captain in Adirondack Thunder history, following Mike Bergin (2017-18), Peter MacArthur (2016 – 2017) and Rob Bordson (2015). Henry has been a member of the Thunder since the team’s inception before the 2015-16 season, appearing in 216 games for Adirondack between the regular season and playoffs, tops on the all-time list. The Winnipeg, MB native has recorded 148 points (49-99-148) in his Thunder career to make him the organization’s all-time leading scorer.

MacArthur, 33, is entering his third season overall with the Thunder after having played with the squad during the 2015-16 and 2016-17 seasons. The Clifton Park, NY native wore the captain’s “C” during his first stint with the team before playing last season with the Allen Americans. Ward is entering his third season with the Thunder, the first that he’s played under an American League contract. The 26-year old was part of the leadership group last season as an alternate and is the franchise’s all-time leader in goals scored with 63 tallies over the past two seasons.

The Thunder kicks off its 2018-2019 season tonight against the Maine Mariners in Portland, ME. Tickets for the home opener on October 20 are still available with the Stewart’s Four Pack. For the latest Thunder news, follow the team on Facebook on Twitter. 

Adirondack Thunder Hockey – This Is Our Team