2017 Player Tracker

Let us keep you in the loop as we build our 2017-18 Roster!
The offseason is always the worst time of the year for a hockey fan and the #IsItOctoberYet hashtag can only take us so far. With no games being played and a partial roster, it can tend to drag on a bit. Our Coaching Staff and General Management is hard at work in the summer months, however, working on building a competitive roster for the 2017-18 season, the third of Adirondack Thunder hockey. 
The ECHL has several deadlines and nuances that will keep you in the loop on player signings and letting you know if your favorite Adirondack Thunder player will be back in Glens Falls next season. The following dates are your “need to knows” for the 2017 offseason. 
June 1 — ECHL Protected lists due
This gives teams the option to protect as many of its players under certain criteria to retain negotiating rights. Only players signed to Adirondack contracts (ECHL) are eligible for this protection, meaning players like Stepan Falkovsky (Stockton, AHL), Brandon Baddock (New Jersey, NHL) and Mason McDonald (Calgary, NHL) are not eligible to be on the Thunder’s protected list. 
June 13 — Future Considerations deadline
Any outstanding future considerations from the 2016-17 season must be completed by 3:00 p.m. on June 13. 
June 15 — Season Ending Rosters due
The Season Ending Roster is a list with a maximum of 20 players who played for Adirondack under an ECHL contract in 2016-17 and would be eligible to sign a Qualifying Offer. So for the Thunder, players such as James Henry or Kevin Lough, who played out the 2016-17 season on an ECHL deal would be eligible to be named to this list.
June 16 — First day to sign ECHL contracts for 2016-17 season
June 16 is the first day players can sign an ECHL contract. This will be the first date that anyone can expect to see a Thunder ECHL transaction. 
June 30 — Qualifying Offers due
Each ECHL team is entitled to reserve the rights to a maximum of eight qualified players from the initial Season Ending Roster from June 15 up to this date. Up to four of those players can be Veteran players - players who will have played 260+ professional games in qualifying leagues at the start of the 2017-18 season. Forward Peter MacArthur is an example of a veteran player from the 2016-17 Thunder roster. These offers expire on August 1. 
Listed below is a full list of signings and where various Thunder players fall in terms of free agency and rights. 
Signed - Adirondack
Kevin Lough
Terrence Wallin
JC Campagna
James Henry
Austin Orszulak
Mike Bergin
Brian Ward
Tim Harrison
Conor Riley
Tim Boyle
Stephen Johnson
Pierre-Luc Mercier
Paul Rodrigues
Eric Neiley
Mathieu Brodeur
Qualified By Adirondack
Ty Loney
Signed In Europe, Thunder Hold ECHL Rights
Brock Montgomery - Signed with Tilburg Trappers (Germany) - 7/5
Alex Wall - Signed with Frisk Asker (Norway) - 5/27
Greg Wolfe - Signed with Sparta Sarpsborg (Norway) - 6/23
Adirondack Thunder 2017 Protected List
Patch Alber - Signed with Kansas City (ECHL) - 8/2
J.P. Anderson
Cullen Bradshaw - Signed with Kallings/Ronneby IF (Sweden) - 6/29
Chris Dienes
Dana Fraser
Dennis Kravchenko - Signed with Fort Wayne (ECHL) - 6/29
Phil Lane - Traded to Atlanta (ECHL), 9/5
Peter MacArthur (Veteran)
Adirondack Thunder 2017 Affiliated Players
Mikkel Aagaard - Free Agent
Brandon Baddock - Under Contract with New Jersey Devils (NHL)
Ryan Culkin - Signed with Tucson (AHL), 7/29
Roman Dyukov - Signed with Dinamo Minsk (KHL), 6/15
Stepan Falkovsky - Signed with Los Angeles Kings (NHL) - 7/1
Keegan Kanzig - Under Contract with Carolina Hurricanes (NHL)
Mason McDonald - Under Contract with Calgary Flames (NHL)
Brett Pollock - Under Contract with Calgary Flames (NHL)


About the Thunder

The Adirondack Thunder are the proud members of the ECHL and will begin their 2017-18 season on October 14, 2017 at Cool Insuring Arena. The Thunder enter their third season of ECHL play, following two consecutive playoff berths, including reaching second round of the Kelly Cup Playoffs in 2016, the first time since 1994 that an Adirondack team won a playoff series. 

Find Us

Glens Falls Civic Center
Adirondack Thunder
1 Civic Center Plaza
Glens Falls, NY 12801