Press Releases


06/19/2017 12:35 PM -
Glens Falls, NY – The Adirondack Thunder announced today their season-ending roster, consisting of 19 skaters and one goaltender.
The Adirondack Thunder’s season-ending roster is as follows: 
Goaltenders (x1): J.P. Anderson
Defensemen (x7): Patch Alber, Mike Bergin, Mathieu Brodeur, Chris Dienes, Kevin Lough, Conor Riley and Alex Wall 
Forwards (x13):  Cullen Bradshaw, Dana Fraser, James Henry, Gunnar Hughes, Phil Lane, Ty Loney, Peter MacArthur, Brock Montgomery, Austin Orszulak, Brian Ward and Greg Wolfe
All 19 players on the Thunder’s season-ending roster skated with the Thunder during the 2016-17 season with 13 of the 19 being named to the Thunder’s 2017 Kelly Cup Playoff roster. 
The remaining seven players from the Thunder’s playoff roster are not eligible to be placed on the season-ending roster as they were assigned to Adirondack on either NHL or AHL contracts. Goaltender Mason McDonald, defensemen Ryan Culkin and Keegan Kanzig and forward Brett Pollock were assigned to the Thunder from Calgary (NHL), while forward Brandon Baddock was assigned from New Jersey (NHL).  Defensemen Roman Dyukov and Stepan Falkovsky were assigned to the team from Stockton (AHL). 
Season-Ending Rosters may include up to 20 players. Season-Ending Rosters cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2016-17. 
Each team is entitled to reserve rights to a maximum of eight players from the list of 20 by extending a qualifying offer no later than July 1. Of the eight qualified players, no more than four can be veterans (260 regular season professional hockey games played as of the start of the 2017-18 Season). Players on open qualifying offers cannot be traded. Teams are not required to extend a qualifying offer to players who sign a contract prior to July 1. 
The qualifying offer must remain open for acceptance until Aug. 1 at which time the qualifying offer becomes null and void and the team may sign the qualified player to any salary or may elect to take no further action. Teams that extend a valid qualifying offer to a non-veteran player shall retain the rights to that qualified player for one playing season. 
A team that extends a valid qualifying offer to a veteran player, or to a goaltender who has played more than 180 regular-season games, will retain the rights to that player until Aug. 1. After Aug. 1, if the veteran player or goaltender is not signed to a contract by the team, the veteran or goaltender shall be deemed a restricted free agent and shall be entitled to seek and secure offers of employment from other ECHL teams. Restricted free agents may not be traded. When a restricted free agent receives a contract offer from a team other than the team with the player’s rights and the restricted free agent wishes to accept the contract offer, the restricted free agent and the offering member must, within 24 hours, notify the ECHL, the team with the player’s rights and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association. The member with the player’s rights shall have seven days after the date it is notified to exercise its right to match the contract offer. 
If a restricted free agent is not signed to either an offer sheet or a contract by an ECHL team by Aug. 31, the player shall be deemed an unrestricted free agent
Adirondack Thunder Hockey – This Is Our Team

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


About the Thunder

The Adirondack Thunder are the proud members of the ECHL and will begin their 2017-18 season on October 14, 2017 at Cool Insuring Arena. The Thunder enter their third season of ECHL play, following two consecutive playoff berths, including reaching second round of the Kelly Cup Playoffs in 2016, the first time since 1994 that an Adirondack team won a playoff series. 

Find Us

Glens Falls Civic Center
Adirondack Thunder
1 Civic Center Plaza
Glens Falls, NY 12801