Press Releases


06/02/2017 7:56 AM -
Glens Falls, NY – The Adirondack Thunder announced today their protected list, consisting of 20 skaters and one goaltender.
The Adirondack Thunder’s protected list is as follows: 
Goaltenders (x1): J.P. Anderson
Defensemen (x7): Patch Alber, Mike Bergin, Mathieu Brodeur, Chris Dienes, Kevin Lough, Conor Riley and Alex Wall 
Forwards (x13): Cullen Bradshaw, Cameron Brown, Dana Fraser, James Henry, Gunnar Hughes, Dennis Kravchenko, Phil Lane, Ty Loney, Peter MacArthur, Brock Montgomery, Austin Orszulak, Brian Ward and Greg Wolfe
All 21 players on the Thunder’s protected list skated with the Thunder during the 2016-17 season with 15 of the 21 being named to the Thunder’s 2017 Kelly Cup Playoff roster.
The remaining seven players from the Thunder’s playoff roster are not eligible to be protected as they were assigned to Adirondack on either NHL or AHL contracts. Goaltender Mason McDonald, defensemen Ryan Culkin, defenseman Keegan Kanzig and forward Brett Pollock were assigned to the Thunder from Calgary (NHL), while forward Brandon Baddock was assigned from New Jersey (NHL). Defensemen Roman Dyukov and Stepan Falkovsky were assigned to the team from Stockton (AHL).
Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:
1. Signed an SPC in 2016-17 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR
2. Signed an SPC in 2016-17, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR
3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR
4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR
5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2016-17 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR
6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.
The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15.
Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2016-17.
Adirondack Thunder Hockey – This Is Our Team

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


About the Thunder

The Adirondack Thunder are the proud members of the ECHL and will begin their 2017-18 season on October 14, 2017 at Cool Insuring Arena. The Thunder enter their third season of ECHL play, following two consecutive playoff berths, including reaching second round of the Kelly Cup Playoffs in 2016, the first time since 1994 that an Adirondack team won a playoff series. 

Find Us

Glens Falls Civic Center
Adirondack Thunder
1 Civic Center Plaza
Glens Falls, NY 12801